The 20th & 21st ICOMOS General Assembly
  PublishDate:2020-12-25  Hits:1330

ICOMOS is a non-governmental international organisation dedicated to the conservation of the world's monuments and sites. It is one of the three Advisory Bodies to the World Heritage Committee.


It holds its General Assembly (GA) every three years. 

The 20th GA and the Scientific symposium focusing “Share cultures, shared heritage, shared responsibility“ initially scheduled in Sydney from 1-10 October 2020, were postponed due the sanitary conditions. 

However, the election of the new Board and ICOMOS officer position was held online. 

The new President is Teresa Patricio (Belgium), the Secretary General is Mario Santana Quintero (Canada), the Treasurer is Pamela Jerome (United States). 

The new five Vice Presidents are Riin Alatalu (Estonia), Bo Jiang (China), Leonardo Castriota (Brazil), Alpha Diop (Mali), Zeynep Gül Ünal (Turkey). 

The new Board members are Nils Ahlberg (Sweden), Adriana Careaga (Uruguay), Andreas Georgopoulos (Greece), HAN Suk-Young (South Korea), Takeyuki Okubo (Japan), Peter Phillips (Australia), Nupur Prothi (India), Grainne Shaffrey (Ireland), Jean-Christophe Simon (France), Hatthaya Siriphatthanakun (Thailand), Stacy Vallis (New Zealand), Cyrill von Planta (Austria). 

More information on the 20th GA is available at 


Australia ICOMOS in Sydney will host the 21st General Assembly and Scientific Symposium of ICOMOS in September 2023. 

Further information about ‘GA2023’ will be made available in due course, once the situation regarding COVID-19 and implications for global travel and economic recovery have become more apparent, and preliminary plans are in place.

More information on the initial 20th GA programme and on the forthcoming 21st GA is available at


Copyright © 2009-2012 World Heritage Institute of Training and Research-Asia and Pacific (shanghai)